College…really? Yes!

We all know how important education is in the United States. Education is the pathway to a good job, making a decent living, finding out about yourself, etc. The list that education brings to one’s life is endless. However, being physically disabled can jeopardize getting an education. This is particularly true when it is time to start thinking about going away to college.

Yes, being independent when you’re physically disabled can be a significant challenge, not to mention nerve-wracking for parents. As a college graduate myself, I can tell you that it is completely worth it. During my collegiate years, I was welcomed into a sorority, deepened my faith, changed the way I think about the world, and my college experience ultimately made me a woman. Now, I have to recognize that I am not medically fragile, do not have the incredible challenges of a learning disability, or need to go to the doctor frequently. We all have different abilities and we should make the decision to go to college based upon our personal abilities. As I said, the personal benefits are countless but there are other benefits too.

Some facts to consider:

“A typical college graduate earns roughly $650,000 more than a typical high school graduate over the course of a 40-year career, according to the Pew Research Center study” (dailyfinance.com).

“Employment opportunities are far better for someone with a college degree, as employers are assured that this person has working knowledge of their business and can cope with a competitive work environment as well. The skill set owned by the individual will also be higher than someone who does not have a college education” (buzzle.com)

“Other benefits of going to college that don’t necessarily show up in the earning statistics are the experience students who attend college gain. People who go on to do higher education tend to be healthier and a generally more rounded person than someone who has just got a high school education” (importanceofcollege.com).

Speaking of personal growth, I had so many fun opportunities. I mentioned it before, but I joined a sorority, Phi Mu. In high school, I didn’t really have friends. When I joined Phi Mu, the women in the sorority embraced me. They didn’t see the disability; they only saw me offering friendship and humor. We went to parties and philanthropy events together and they didn’t shelter me because I was disabled, I was just Hannah to them. I can relate to typical a college and soroity experience. The experience of my participation in a soroity can be compared to college academics, dorm life and so much more.

I realize those facts cannot necessarily change your mind if you are scared to go to college but if anything, I urge you to do more research.  I found a good place for you to start researching here.

Also, I’ve been through the highs and lows of college life. Stop by the Development office, I would love to chat!

Leave a Reply

