New Year Resolutions

This is the time of year when New Year resolutions are made. Everyone aspires to lose weight, eat better, exercise more, and the list of stereotypical resolutions continues. As of early March, most people forget about them as they get busy with the demands of life. However, clients at Easter Seals DuPage and the Fox Valley Region work on their goals throughout the year. Their goals all are steps towards achieving maximum independence. They cannot forget about them because their goals are critical to their success and our devoted therapists help them achieve these milestones. The therapists at Easter Seals have the knowledge to set goals for their clients at the right time. This way each goal is attainable and the client can experience the feeling of success.

Being a client at Easter Seals, I appreciate when I get asked for input on my goals. I can express what is important to me. Celine Skertich, a physical therapist at Easter Seals seconds my opinion when she says,

“I see my role as more of a facilitator to empower clients to be the best and the most independent they can be.  That is why I always ask, “what do you want to work on”? Also, I say “it really doesn’t matter what I want to work on, it’s your life”!  If I feel clients are being over enthusiastic with their goals then we talk about breaking things down into more realistic pieces.” New Year post

When a client reaches a goal that he or she wanted reach as an individual, it will mean more to the client. His or her success will be that much more significant. This is due to the fact that the client genuinely wanted to reach a certain goal instead of being told their goal by their therapist. Collaborative efforts can produce wonderful results.

I encourage you to keep New Year resolutions like the clients of Easter Seals DuPage and the Fox Valley Region. We will be working on goals to keep us healthy and happy all year long. What are your goals or New Year resolutions for the coming year? Post them!

Leave a Reply

